Commercial Pilot Certificate Requirements

Aeronautical Experience Required

  • 250 hours total flight time
  • 100 hours in powered aircraft and 50 hours in airplanes
  • 20 dual hours
  • 10 hours instrument training
  • 5 hours instrument in SE airplane
  • 10 hours in complex SE airplane
  • 2 hours dual VFR day cross country flight in SE airplane
  • 2 hours dual VFR night cross country in SE airplane
    • Each flight must include landing 100 NM from departure airport
  • 3 hours dual during the 60 days prior to the flight test
    • 10 hours solo flight time in SE airplane
    • o In addition to solo before private pilot to include:
      1. 1 solo cross country flight over 300 NM with landings at 3 points, one at least 250 NM from departure airport
      2. 5 hours solo night VFR with 10 take offs and landings at a controlled airport
  • 100 hours PIC including 50 in airplanes and 50 cross country

Other Requirements:

  1. Be at least 18 years of age when you finish your training and take your FAA practical (flight) test.
  2. Be able to read, speak, write, and understand the English language.
  3. Obtain at least third class medical certificate.
    • a. You must undergo a routine medical examination which may only be administered by FAA designated doctors called Aviation Medical Examiners (AME).
      1. i. A third class medical certificate is good for 3 years if the date of the examination was before your 40th birthday or 2 years if the date of the examination was on or after your 40th birthday. The medical certificate expires on the last day of the month issued (when another examination is required)
      2. ii. Although you only need a third class medical certificate for your practical test, you will need a second class medical certificate to act as pilot in command of an airplane while exercising your privileges of commercial pilot.
  4. Hold at least a Private Pilot certificate.
  5. Pass the commercial pilot knowledge test with a score of 70 percent or better. All FAA tests are administered at FAA designated computer testing centers.
  6. Successfully complete a practical (flight) test which will be given as a final exam by an FAA pilot examiner.